Crane Lake Township

Current Topics

May 2, 2006: Board of Appeal and Equalization Meeting: Minutes



MAY 2, 2006


The Board of Appeal and Equalization Meeting of the Town of Crane Lake was held on Tuesday, May 2, 2006.  Chairman Jerry Pohlman called the meeting to order at 2:05PM.  The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by those in attendance, including: Supervisors Jerry Pohlman and Butch Eggen, Treasurer Terrie Hoff, Clerk Jo Ann Pohlman, Township Assessor Richard Vidmar, St. Louis County Representative Dan Christianson and two members of the community.  Supervisor Jim Janssen was absent.


Jim Berlin discussed his appeal with Richard Vidmar and Dan Christianson prior to the opening of the meeting.  He also presented a letter to be considered.  Mr. Berlin left before the meeting was called to order.


Two letters were presented for appeal.


James Berlin, Parcel Code 308-0030-01561 requested that the building site value be moved from his parcel code to the parcel code that the building is on, Parcel Code 308-0030-1400.  A motion was made by Jerry, supported by Butch, to change James Berlin’s valuation and classification by moving the building site valuation from Parcel Code 308-0030-01561 to Parcel Code 308-0030-1400.  All voted in favor and the motion carried.


Richard Harvey, Parcel Code 308-0030-01845, questioned the valuation of his property.  The Board discussed Mr. Harvey’s valuation in relation to other properties in the area and agreed that it was fair.  A motion was made by Butch, supported by Jerry, that Mr. Harvey’s valuation remain the same.  All voted in favor and the motion carried.


A list of Crane Lake Building Permits 2006 Assessment was presented to the Board by St. Louis County Representative Dan Christianson.  The Board reviewed the document and found no discrepancies.  No action was taken.


There being no other requests from Crane Lake residents regarding property valuations, the Board of Appeals and Equalization Meeting was adjourned at 3PM.





Jo Ann Pohlman, Clerk                                                                       Jerry Pohlman, Chairman