Crane Lake Township

Current Topics

August 29, 2006: 2nd Reconvened Annual Meeting Minutes



August 29, 2006


The August 29, 2006  2nd Reconvened Annual Meeting was called to order by Clerk Jo Ann Pohlman at 8:23PM at the Crane Lake Chapel Fellowship Hall with Supervisors Butch Eggen, Jerry Pohlman, and Jim Janssen, Treasurer Terrie Hoff, Clerk Jo Ann Pohlman, reporters from the Voyageur Sentinel and the Timberjay, and 40 members of the community in attendance.


Clerk Jo Ann explained that the meeting was the 2nd Reconvened meeting of the Annual meeting of March 14, 2006 and August 8, 2006; the purpose being to approve a levy amount for 2007.  She explained that the Town Supervisors do not conduct the meeting but rather a Moderator. Jeff Sanborn was elected for the previous Special Town Meeting.  Jo Ann asked if all agreed that Jeff would moderate this meeting.  Those present agreed and she turned the meeting over to Jeff.


Moderator Jeff reviewed the Agenda items and explained that voting would be done by show of hands.  Jeff reminded everyone that all present could participate in the meeting, but only registered voters of the Town of Crane Lake could vote. Copies of the Proposed 2007 Budget were provided to those present.   Election Judges Shirley Sanborn and Joan Olson were asked to count the votes.


Jeff asked if there were any questions.  Questions referred to the Fire Department portion of the Budget.


A motion was made by Nancy Parvi, supported by Butch Eggen to approve the Township portion of the levy request amounting to $28,895.  40 voted in favor, 0 against.  The motion carried.


A motion was made by Ruth L. Carlson, supported by Terrie Hoff to approve the Fire Department portion of the levy request amounting to $46,000.  41 voted in favor, 0 against.  The motion carried.


The total levy amount of $74, 895.00 will be submitted to St. Louis County by September 15, 2006.


A motion was made by Dave Adams, supported by Lisa Anderson to adjourn the meeting.  All agreed and the motion carried.


The meeting was adjourned at 8:33PM








Jo Ann Pohlman, Clerk                                                           Jeff Sanborn, Moderator









This draft of the Crane Lake Township minutes has been posted solely for preliminary informational purposes.  Minutes are unofficial and subject to change until they have been approved.